The Theological College of Northern Nigeria (TCNN), Bukuru  is a private institution whose overseers are “Tarayar Ekklesiyoyin Kristi a Nigeria” (TEKAN), i.e. The Fellowship of the Churches of Christ in Nigeria. It was established out of the needs to train effective leaders.  It was intended to produce church leaders who would be able to make the entire church in Nigeria a forward looking church, able to face the challenge of the socio-economic and political context of independent Nigeria; to train pastors able to meet the needs of the spiritual life of the church and the nation through a clear presentation of the scripture; to meet the needs of young men and women who have gone to secular schools and obtained higher education.

Interest in establishing such a theological college in northern Nigeria was officially announced at a meeting of the Northern Mission Council in 1954, when the representatives of the various member bodies met in Jos to discuss the question of theological training in Northern Nigeria.  However, a concrete decision on when to open the school was not taken until on 12 May 1955.   On 26 May 1957, the College was officially declared open but students were not admitted until February 1959 when its first classes started at Gindiri.

TCNN moved to its permanent site at Bukuru and this was dedicated in 1961.  TCNN started with two courses of study, the Diploma of Theology and Certificate in Theology (later changed to Diploma in Christian Ministry).  However, the Diploma programme ended in the 1990s as various degree programmes took off.

The College has an international status not only because of its high academic standard but also because of its evangelical emphasis on developing a spiritual maturity that is able to stand the tests of the complexity of our modern life. The College is located to the east of Bukuru, a suburb of Jos, the capital of Plateau State.  The area offers an ideal place of study for nationals as well as expatriates because of its cool climate.  Jos, commonly called the “Tin City”, has tourist attractions of various kinds, ranging from the rocky scenery of the Plateau to various establishments, both governmental and private, such as the Jos Wildlife Park, Zoo and Museum and Miango Rest Home and Conference Centre.  The fact that TCNN is an international institution makes it also an ideal place for study especially at a time in the life of the church when the need for Christian unity and biblical ecumenism in our country and worldwide is high.

TEKAN is made up of fifteen different Nigerian church denominations.  These denominations are the proprietors of the College.  Additionally, there are two associate proprietors. TEKAN is registered with the Corporate Affairs Commission – CAC/IT/No. 448. in accordance with the Company and Allied Matters Act, 1, 1990.

The College is affiliated to the University of Jos for BA Religious Studies and BA Linguistics.

Proprietor Churches

  1. Church of Christ in Nations (COCIN)
  2. Lutheran Church of Christ in Nigeria (LCCN)
  3. United Methodist Church of Nigeria (UMCN)
  4. Christian Reformed Church – Nigeria (CRC-N)
  5. Evangelical Reformed Church of Christ (ERCC)
  6. Reformed Church of Christ for Nations (RCCN)
  7. United Church of Christ in Nigeria (UCCN)
  8. Ekkilisiyyar Yan’uwa a Nijeriya (EYN)
  9. Nongo U Kristu Hen Sudan Ken Tiv (NKST)
  10. Mambilla Baptist Convention of Nigeria (MBCN)
  11. Evangelical Church of Christ in Nigeria (ECCN)
  12. United Missionary Church in Africa (UMCA)
  13. All Nations’ Christian Assembly (ANCA)
  14. Christian Evangelical Fellowship of Nigeria (CEFN)
  15. Nigeria Reformed Church (NRC)

Associate proprietors

  1. Presbyterian Church of Nigeria (PCN)
  2. Church of Nigeria, Anglican Communion (CNAC)